Sustained assault helps Sri Lanka take the honours in the opener

Sustained assault helps Sri Lanka take the honours in the opener

Riding on Perera's 37-ball 66, the hosts chased down 175 in 18.3 overs.

Earlier, India's batting got off to a false start with the fall of stand-in captain Rohit Sharma and Suresh Raina in the first two overs. Manish Pandey came to the rescue by playing the ideal foil to Dhawan, as the opener took charge of the proceedings. However, Dhawan snatched back the momentum with a strokeful innings during which he hit six fours and six sixes. The last edition of the tournament was played in 1998 as an ODI series.

Sri Lanka finally had something to smile about against India as they were on the winning side after being on the wrong side of the draw for seven consecutive T20I matches.

Dhawan was the top-scorer for India as he blasted 90 off 49 balls studded with six boundaries and as many sixes.

More news: NFL Agents Say Texans Aren't Seeking Players Who Kneeled for Anthem

"I was disappointed that I couldn't score a century but at that time the team wanted to go after bowling, so I didn't care if I get century or not". Sri Lanka will face a home crowd buoyed by their recent tour of Bangladesh where they thrashed the hosts in all three formats.

Rohit on the other hand said that he is not disappointed to lose the toss. He just single-handedly destroyed the morale of the Indian attack took the game away from India during the powerplay overs.

Rohit, attempting a drive on the rise, couldn't keep it down as the fourth delivery of the opening over from Dushmantha Chameera reared quick and took the bottom of the bat.

From the Sri-lankan side, All-rounder Angelo Mathews has been ruled out from this series due to his injury while Niroshan Dickwella ignored for the series, so only Kusal Perera is set to take over the wicketkeeping duties on Tuesday. Dinesh Chandimal had won the toss and chose to bowl first and Rohit Sharma feels that the wicket will play true right through the game. Mendis from mid-off runs backwards and takes a superb diving catch.

More news: Germany to start work on trade, China, Syria war - Merkel

By the time Shardul Thakur was midway through the 19th over, the match was already in Sri Lanka's lap, courtesy a quickfire cameo from Thisara Perera towards the end.

Rohit is captaining India in the tournament with Virat Kohli rested, alongside fellow senior players MS Dhoni, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya and Kuldeep Yadav.

"The kind of start they got was fantastic, a lot of credit goes to Sri Lanka team as well", he said.

More news: Frances McDormand's two words in 2018 Oscar speech: 'inclusion rider'

Related Articles