Braves' Inciarte wins second consecutive Gold Glove

Braves' Inciarte wins second consecutive Gold Glove

Ozuna, 26, becomes the second Marlins' outfielder ever to win a Gold Glove Award, following the accomplishment of Christian Yelich in 2014, and is the first Marlins player to win the award since Dee Gordon (second base) in 2015.

Simmons won his third Gold Glove and first in the American League Tuesday in his second season with the Angels, and he's a favorite for the AL's Platinum Glove as the league's top overall defensive player (Simmons won NL Platinum as a courageous in 2013).

More news: Netflix Users Received Scam Email Asking For Credit Card Info

Gordon, the Kansas City Royals' left fielder, was named an American League Gold Glove victor for a fifth time in his career. Meanwhile, the Twins were represented by two first-time winners in Buxton and Dozier. Only Frank White has won more Gold Gloves in franchise history.

So, which Indians player had the best argument for the award? Hosmer's four Rawlings Gold Glove Awards are tied with Perez for third-most all-time among Kansas City players. The Tribe shortstop won last year's Platinum Glove, marking the best overall defender in the AL, but Simmons put up dazzling numbers during the regular season, leading all of baseball with a 3.25 defensive WAR mark, while finishing second in putouts and third in assists in the AL. Hosmer also had a streak of 120 games without being charged with an error, the longest streak by a Royals first baseman, according to Elias Sports Bureau.

More news: Apple shifted assets to island to evade tax scrutiny

Gordon previously won four straight Gold Gloves during 2011-14.

Here's a full list of the 2017 Gold Glove Award winners.

More news: Disney May Be in Talks to Buy 21st Century Fox

Winners are determined using a combination of advanced metrics (25 percent) and coach and manager voting (75 percent).

Related Articles